Committee details

Our Healthier South East London Joint Health Overview & Scrutiny Committee

Purpose of committee

The Joint Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee (JHOSC) is constituted in accordance with the Local Authority Public Health, Health & Wellbeing Boards and Health Scrutiny Regulations 2013 (the “Regulations”) and Department of Health Guidance to respond to substantial reconfiguration proposals covering more than one Council area from the Our Healthier South East London programme (“OHSEL”).


OHSEL was a proposal devised by the 6 Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) covering the London Boroughs of Bexley, Bromley, Greenwich, Lambeth, Lewisham and Southwark in 2016.  It proposes a five year commissioning strategy for the areas covered by the 6 London Boroughs represented on this joint overview and scrutiny committee.  OHSEL is the body responsible for the delivering the Sustainability & Transformation Plans (STPs) for the 6 boroughs. The JHOSC has been established to oversee this.


The CCGs state that the OHSEL programme is developed to improve health, reduce health inequalities and ensure all health services in South East London meet safety and quality standards consistently and are sustainable in the longer term.


Since the establishment of the OHSEL JHOSC the 6 CCGs merged in 2020.


The membership of the committee consists of two members from each of the six boroughs. Coordination of the OHSEL JHOSC customarily moves to the borough that the chair is a member of; currently this is the London Borough of Bromley.