Agenda item

Election of the Mayor


The Mayor of Southwark, Councillor Michael Situ, welcomed everyone to the meeting. 


The Mayor announced that the leaders of each political group wished to make a statement.


Thereafter, Councillors Kieron Williams and Victor Chamberlain paid tribute to the outgoing Mayor.


The Mayor asked for nominations for Mayor for the ensuing municipal year 2024-25.


Councillor Kieron Williams, seconded by Councillor Evelyn Akoto, moved that Councillor Naima Ali be elected Mayor of the London Borough of Southwark for the municipal year 2024-25.


The nomination was put to the vote and it was:


RESOLVED:That Councillor Naima Ali be elected Mayor for the 2024-25 municipal year.


Councillor Naima Ali accepted the office of Mayor.  The clerk declared that Councillor Naima Ali was duly elected Mayor of Southwark for 2024-25. 


The new Mayor signed the declaration of acceptance of office and took the chair. 


The new Mayor stated that she appointed her daughter, Kafia Elmi, as her Mayoress.


The new Mayor appointed Councillor Sunny Lambe as Deputy Mayor. 


The new Mayor gave her incoming speech and announced that her chosen charities would be Speakerbox, Action Aid, and Living Bankside.