Agenda item

Setting the council tax 2022-23

To follow


At this juncture the clerk explained that the Local Authorities (Standing Orders) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2014, which had come into force on 25 February 2014, required a recorded vote on key budget decisions by local authorities. The regulations required a recorded vote on decisions only.  Therefore in accordance with council assembly procedure rule 1.16(4) (a roll call recorded vote), an announcement was made at the beginning and end of one minute, after which the vote was taken.


The substantive motion was put to the vote, and the votes having been recorded, the Mayor declared the result as follows:


In favour of the substantive motion (49):


Councillors Evelyn Akoto, Humaira Ali, Jasmine Ali, Peter Babudu, Maggie Browning, Jack Buck, Victor Chamberlain, Sunil Chopra, James Coldwell, Stephanie Cryan, Helen Dennis, Nick Dolezal, Gavin Edwards, Tom Flynn, Renata Hamvas, Barrie Hargrove, William Houngbo, Peter John, Nick Johnson, Eleanor Kerslake, Sarah King, Sunny Lambe, Richard Leeming, Maria Linforth-Hall, Richard Livingstone, Rebecca Lury, Eliza Mann, James McAsh, Hamish McCallum, Darren Merrill, Vicky Mills, Adele Morris, Graham Neale, Margy Newens, David Noakes, Damian O'Brien, Jason Ochere, Leo Pollak, Catherine Rose, Jane Salmon, Andy Simmons, Michael Situ, Charlie Smith, Cleo Soanes, Leanne Werner, Dan Whitehead, Kath Whittam, Kieron Williams and Ian Wingfield.


Absent (13):


Councillors Anood Al-Samerai, Radha Burgess, Dora Dixon-Fyle, Karl Eastham, Paul Fleming, Sirajul Islam, Lorraine Lauder, Alice Macdonald, Victoria Olisa, Sandra Rhule, Martin Seaton, and Bill Williams.


The Mayor declared that the substantive motion was carried.




1.  That the 2022-23 Southwark element of the council tax for band D properties in Southwark, including an increase of 2.99% be set at £1,198.95 (appendix B).


2.  That the 2022-23 formal resolution for Southwark council taxes in 2022-23 be approved (appendix A).


3.  That no discount be applied to properties in the former parish of St Mary Newington for 2022-23.


4.  That no discount be applied to properties in the former parish of St Saviour’s for 2022-23.


5.  That council assembly noted the Greater London Authority (GLA) proposal to set a precept level of £395.59 at band D, which the GLA will consider on 24 February 2022 (appendix C).


6.  That the existing local war disability and war widow/widowers’ schemes for housing benefit be continued in 2022-23.


7.  That council assembly established a council tax setting committee, to set the council tax for the year 2022-23, in accordance with section 67(3) of the Local Government Finance Act 1992, and agrees the role and functions, matters reserved and political composition (appendix D).


8.  That council assembly appointed Councillors Rebecca Lury, Jasmine Ali, Stephanie Cryan, William Houngbo, Jason Ochere, Catherine Rose and Jane Salmon to serve on the council tax setting committee.


9.  That council assembly appoints Councillor Rebeca Lury as the chair and Councillor Jane Salmon as the vice-chair of the council tax setting committee.


10.  That the special council tax setting committee will meet on Friday 25 February 2022. This will allow council tax notices to be issued in line with the normal statutory timetable.

Supporting documents: