Agenda item



The outgoing Mayor, Councillor Kath Whittam, welcomed everyone to the meeting. 


The outgoing Mayor announced that the leaders of each political group wished to make a statement.


Thereafter, Councillors Peter John, Anood Al-Samerai and Michael Mitchell paid tribute to the outgoing Mayor.


The outgoing Mayor asked for nominations for Mayor for the ensuing municipal year 2017/18.


Councillor Peter John, seconded by Councillor Stephanie Cryan, moved that Councillor Charlie Smith be elected Mayor of the London Borough of Southwark for the municipal year 2017/18.


The nomination was put to the vote and it was:


RESOLVED:  That Councillor Charlie Smith be elected Mayor for the 2017/18 municipal year.


Councillor Charlie Smith accepted the office of Mayor.  The outgoing Mayor declared that Councillor Charlie Smith was duly elected Mayor of Southwark for 2017/18. 


The retiring Mayor, Councillor Kath Whittam, invested the new Mayor, Councillor Charlie Smith, with the badge of office.  The new Mayor signed the declaration of acceptance of office and took the chair. 


Thereafter, the outgoing Mayor was presented with a replica of the Mayoral badge of the London Borough of Southwark.


The new Mayor stated that his consort would be his wife, Sue Smith.  The new Mayor’s consort was presented with a badge.


The new Mayor appointed Councillor Jamille Mohammed as Deputy Mayor.  The Deputy Mayor was invested with the badge of office.


The outgoing Mayor, Councillor Kath Whittam, gave her outgoing speech. 


The new Mayor gave his incoming speech and announced that his chosen charities would be The Southwark Pensioners' Centre and The Change Foundation.