Environment and Community Engagement Scrutiny Commission - Monday 20 February 2023 7.00 pm

Venue: 160 Tooley Street, London, SE1 2QH

Contact: Julie Timbrell 

No. Item

Part A - Open Business



    • Share this item

    To receive any apologies for absence.


Notification of any items of business which the chair deems urgent

    • Share this item

    In special circumstances, an item of business may be added to an agenda within five clear working days of the meeting.


Disclosure of Interests and Dispensations

    • Share this item

    Members to declare any interests and dispensations in respect of any item of business to be considered at this meeting.



    • Share this item

    To approve as a correct record the Minutes of the meeting held on  12 January 2023, to follow.


We Walworth

    • Share this item

    Rebecca Towers, Programme Director, will attend with Richard Galpin, Pembroke House.


    A briefing is enclosed.

    Supporting documents:


Climate Emergency Citizens Jury

    • Share this item

    Chris Page, Climate Change and Sustainability Director, will attend and present on the Citizens Jury, with a focus on the community engagement process. A briefing is enclosed.

    Supporting documents:


Resident Participation Framework

    • Share this item

    An officer presentation and paper is attached addressing three main areas:


      Update on implementation of the Resident Participation Framework,


      Impact of the Regulatory Code on participation and the framework,


      What good practice in resident participation looks like.


    A briefing paper is enclosed from theTenants Council Representative.


    The February 2020 Cabinet report on the Southwark Resident Participation Framework is enclosed as background.


    The following officers will attend to present:


    ·  John McCormack, Tenant and Homeowner Involvement Team Leader

    ·  Nat Stevens, Resident Involvement Manager


    Cllr Natasha Ennin, Deputy Cabinet Member for Diversity will attend.


    The following housing stakeholders will attend:


    ·  Cris Claridge, Tenants Council, accompanied by  Althea Smith, joint Chair of Tenants Forum, Chris Meregini, SGTO Chair and Dario Blake, SGTO Vice Chair.

    ·  BasseyBassey, Southwark TMO

    ·  Ina Negoita, Homeowners Forum• 

    ·  Melvin M Kanu (Alberta TRA)

    ·  Harry Matthews (Thurlow Lodge TRA)

    ·  KudiratOlamide Balogun (Brandon 1 TRA)

    ·  Sheila Benjamin (Brandon 3) TBC



    Supporting documents:


Review: Financing and resourcing the Climate Emergency plan - officer briefing

    • Share this item

    The following briefings are enclosed covering:


    ·  Low carbon heating and retrofit projects for council homes


    ·  Climate finance


    The following officers are confirmed:


    ·  Chris Page, Climate Change and Sustainability Director

    ·  Tom Vosper, Strategic Project Manager

    ·  David Hodgson, Director of Asset Management

    Supporting documents:


Interview: Cabinet member Climate Emergency and Sustainable Development


Work Programme